The path to destruction is often paved with good intentions

Quote from Alice in Wonderland.

Alice: Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?
The Cat: That depends a good deal on where you want to get to

Which way should I go ?

very often in everyday life, we ponder over this question.

In fact, just today, I was at a loss of which direction to walk to the subway station, after alighting from a bus near a mall which I have not frequented for quite some time.

So what did I do ?

Since there were a myraid of signs just hanging above my head, I looked up for the direction/ road signs and followed the direction of one of the signs which pointed to the subway station.

However, after walking for a few minutes, my instincts or perhaps faded memory was telling me that something was not right.

But shouldn’t I trust the signs?  After all, they were supposed to give directions (with good intentions to help the lost)?

After a few seconds of struggle, I decided to go with my gut feel, turn around and head in the opposite direction.

Surprisingly, my instinct was right!

So what?  You may say it’s no big deal.  But I had a bigger revelation in my mind.

Often in life, we feel lost… be it changing jobs, choosing a date, settling in a new town… the list is endless.   During these times, we often look for some directions from ‘trusted’ sources (books, research, people around us, our elders, our loved ones, etc).   I’m not saying it’s wrong to seek direction from ‘trusted sources’, often they are filled with good intentions.

But what about listening to our own heart?

Do we seek out the still small voice in our heart?  It’s trying to tell us something about ourselves that sometimes we may not even know.

Sometimes we hear that voice, but we silence it when we receive contradicting advice from ‘trusted sources’.  We lose confidence in the small voice, our inner self, trying to reach out to us.

We follow conventional wisdom/trusted sources.  We lose touch with ourselves.  We may trod a path but does it really lead us to where we really want to go ?

It’s just a simple incident today but really a revelation to me.

My friends, which path would you choose?

Feel free to share with me and follow me on

www.bizture.com/macie

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Daily-Inspiration-For-Personal-Development/126209916297

https://selfinspiration.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/#!/dailymotiva

Leave a Reply

